Wake up your creative mind

playing-guitar_1600Technology seems to rule our world. If you don’t believe me, I challenge you to visit any public gathering spot and look around. I suspect that a majority of the people you observe will have their heads buried in a handheld device. Perhaps you are reading this from a tablet or smart-phone and need to lift your own head to observe the others in your shoes.

Heck, I am able to provide for my family because of the technology that exists. However, as with everything, balance is key. Too much of one thing and too little of another can often create anxiety, tension, and the propensity to sink into a proverbial rut.

It is with this observation that I start my blogging life.

I am so “left-brained” that I wonder how I don’t walk around with my head sagging to the left. Everything I seem to do focuses on the technical, logical, and analytical. It’s like there’s a big empty void on the right side of my brain yelling ‘Feed me! Feed me!’ and I have ignored its pleas until now. I am working towards balancing the equilibrium of my mind by kicking my creative side and “right-brain” into first gear (with other gears to hopefully follow).

I was reading a blog post about an American actress named Maria Bello. She was slated to become an influential human rights lawyer until she took an acting class in her junior year. Her law professor (and mentor) encouraged her to listen to her heart by stating “You serve best by doing the thing that you love most. Follow your bliss.”

Instead of trying to figure out how to monetize an activity or analyze how it may make your life different for better or worse, just live. Do more of what you love and less of what you don’t. You may be surprised at how much influence and impact you have on the people around you not to mention the influence you have on your own inner peace.

writingI’m starting this blog as a part of my “right-brained” creative self-expression. It feels therapeutic to me. I like to share my thoughts with people with the hope of providing some perspective that is useful in their own daily lives. I am picking up my guitar and playing it more because it just feels right and helps me handle the more difficult moments of the day. Simple formula, do what you love, but common sense is not always common practice. Sometimes we all need a little wake-up call to get us out of the woods and back on the path towards passionate living even if that wake-up call is from our own self.

What can you do to create more balance and positive energy in your life? Share it with us. Then, go out and do it … live your life to the fullest!

3 thoughts on “Wake up your creative mind

  1. Sebastian Daniels May 10, 2013 / 5:49 am

    Thanks for the post Dave. Keep up the good work and exploring your creative side. I look forward to reading more of your blog posts and to follow you. I think it is so true about people’s obsession with technology. I was at dinner the other night and some of the people kept checking their phone. It was ridiculous. It is as if we want to be anywhere else but where we are.

    I find peace by meditating and trying to be present.

    findingonespath.blogspot.com

    • davecenker May 10, 2013 / 12:56 pm

      Thanks for your comments Sebastian! I think you hit the proverbial nail on the head … be present. By remaining self-aware and quieting our mind, there is so much that we can “be”. Sometimes we need to step out of the desire to “accomplish” everything under the sun and “just be”.

      • Sebastian Daniels May 10, 2013 / 1:30 pm

        It is hard to do, but it is doable. Just allowing things to happen brings peace. : D

Share your thoughts ...